Book Review; The Stranding- Kate Sawyer

Page Count 352

Publication date June 2021

Publisher Coronet

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210131-180215_chrome5173122299574811254.jpg

Synopsis

Ruth lives in the heart of the city. Working, drinking, falling in love: the rhythm of her vivid and complicated life there is set against a background hum of darkening news reports from which she deliberately turns away.

As a new relationship becomes increasingly claustrophobic, and the discussions of impending political crisis are harder to avoid, she starts to dream of water; of escaping entwining tentacles through deep blue seas. She sets out to the other side of the globe to find that vision of freedom, and to decide who she wants to be when she returns.

But when she arrives at her destination, she finds instead that the world, and life, she left behind no longer exists.
**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Stranding- Kate Sawyer”

Book Review; Once Upon A Broken Heart- Stephanie Garber

Page Count 384

Publication date September 2021

Publisher Hodder & Stoughton 

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210919-150334_chrome6526033468306318221.jpg

Synopsis

**********

Evangeline Fox was raised in her beloved father’s curiosity shop, where she grew up on legends about immortals, like the tragic Prince of Hearts. She knows his powers are mythic, his kiss is worth dying for, and that bargains with him rarely end well.

But when Evangeline learns that the love of her life is about to marry another, she becomes desperate enough to offer the Prince of Hearts whatever he wants in exchange for his help to stop the wedding. The prince only asks for three kisses. But after Evangeline’s first promised kiss, she learns that the Prince of Hearts wants far more from her than she’s pledged. And he has plans for Evangeline that will either end in the greatest happily ever after, or the most exquisite tragedy…

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Once Upon A Broken Heart- Stephanie Garber”

Book Review; Wendy Darling – A C Wise

Page Count 352

Publication date June 2021

Publisher Titan Books

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210404-191723_goodreads445628118954051781.jpg

Synopsis

**********

For those that lived there, Neverland was a children’s paradise. No rules, no adults, only endless adventure and enchanted forests – all led by the charismatic boy who would never grow old.

But Wendy Darling grew up. She left Neverland and became a woman, a mother, a patient, and a survivor. Because Neverland isn’t as perfect as she remembers. There’s darkness at the heart of the island, and now Peter Pan has returned to claim a new Wendy for his lost boys…

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Wendy Darling – A C Wise”

Book Review; For The Wolf- Hannah Whitten

Page Count 437

Publication date June 2021

Publisher Orbit

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210322-202058_chrome82138940203776732.jpg

Synopsis

**********

The first daughter is for the Throne.
The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn’t the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose-to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he’ll return the world’s captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can’t control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can’t hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn’t learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood-and her world-whole.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; For The Wolf- Hannah Whitten”

Mini Book Review; Come Closer- Sara Gran

Page Count 196

Publication date July 2003

GoodReads link

wp-16265373229524228874093646596709.jpg

Synopsis

**********

A recurrent, unidentifiable noise in her apartment. A memo to her boss that’s replaced by obscene insults. Amanda—a successful architect in a happy marriage—finds her life going off kilter by degrees. She starts smoking again, and one night for no reason, without even the knowledge that she’s doing it, she burns her husband with a cigarette. At night she dreams of a beautiful woman with pointed teeth on the shore of a blood-red sea.

The new voice in Amanda’s head, the one that tells her to steal things and talk to strange men in bars, is strange and frightening, and Amanda struggles to wrest back control of her life. Is she possessed by a demon, or is she simply insane?

**********

Continue reading “Mini Book Review; Come Closer- Sara Gran”