Book Review; The Castaways- Lucy Clarke

Wish you were here? Think again.

Page Count 400

Publication date March 2020

Publisher Harper Collins

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210131-180642_chrome7335808416058643209.jpg

Synopsis

A SECRET BEACH.
A HOLIDAY OF A LIFETIME.
WISH YOU WERE HERE?


THINK AGAIN…

It should be like any other holiday.

Beautiful beaches.
Golden sunsets.
Nothing for miles.

You’ll never want to leave.
Until you can’t…

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Castaways- Lucy Clarke”

Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”

Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu

When ghosts talk, she will listen

Page Count 288

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Tor

GoodReads link

screenshot_20201021-214417_chrome174930499252836651.jpg

Synopsis

When a child goes missing in Edinburgh’s darkest streets, young Ropa investigates. She’ll need to call on Zimbabwean magic as well as her Scottish pragmatism to hunt down clues. But as shadows lengthen, will the hunter become the hunted?

When ghosts talk, she will listen…

Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker. Now she speaks to Edinburgh’s dead, carrying messages to the living. A girl’s gotta earn a living, and it seems harmless enough. Until, that is, the dead whisper that someone’s bewitching children–leaving them husks, empty of joy and life. It’s on Ropa’s patch, so she feels honor-bound to investigate. But what she learns will change her world.

She’ll dice with death (not part of her life plan…), discovering an occult library and a taste for hidden magic. She’ll also experience dark times. For Edinburgh hides a wealth of secrets, and Ropa’s gonna hunt them all down

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu”

Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter

Page Count 368

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210208-210746_chrome2725996614760424670.jpg

Synopsis

**********

Long ago Miren O’Malley’s family prospered due to a deal struck with the Mer: safety for their ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and have fallen into decline. Miren’s grandmother is determined to restore their glory, even at the price of Miren’s freedom.

A spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, magic and witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them

***********

Continue reading “Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter”

Book Review; The Eighth Girl- Maxine Mei-Fung Chung

One woman, many personas. But which one is telling the truth?

Page Count 480

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Pushkin Press

GoodReads link

20201015_1934353210418297799551579.jpg

Synopsis

Alexa Wú is a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is manipulated and controlled by a series of alternate personalities. Only three people know about their existence: her therapist Daniel; her stepmother Anna; and her enigmatic best friend Ella.

When Ella gets a job at a high-end gentleman’s club, she is gradually drawn into London’s cruel underbelly. With lives at stake, Alexa follows her friend on a daring rescue mission. Threatened and vulnerable, she will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her biggest obstacle.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Eighth Girl- Maxine Mei-Fung Chung”