Can’t Wait Wednesday- 21#7

Find out which upcoming book release holds a place on my never-ending TBR…

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme run by Wishful Endings and previously Breaking The Spine. We’re here to spotlight upcoming releases and tell you what we’re most excited to read. Want to join in? Let @Tressa tell you all about it, or keep reading to view my choice this week..
Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday- 21#7”

Topshelf Tuesdays 21#4

So many books, so little time.

Topshelf Tuesday is created by yours truly to shout about books on my TBR that I am desperate to read.

As a reviewer I try to post on or around the day of release if I’m writing about an ARC. The downside of this is all those owned books sitting sadly on the shelf, well, on my kindle mostly.

An irresponsible Netgalley addiction coupled with the desire to review any direct requests leaves me little to no time for what I dub ‘Topshelf’ books. Instead I look longingly at the covers before diving straight into the next title my schedule demands.

Some are new, some are old, some are gifted, some are recommended. All are waiting waiting waiting for their time to shine.

This week on my Topshelf I’m feeling wistful for…

screenshot_20210221-180347_kindle758546064679936566.jpg

Silvia Moreno Garcia –Mexican Gothic

Synopsis

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemí’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí, but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

My fabulous friend Kelly gifted me a beautiful hardback edition of this book for Christmas. I’ve been dying to read it since Mexican Gothic hit so many bestseller lists in 2020, even knocking Mr King off his pedestal to win the GoodReads award for Horror novel of the year!

Have you read this novel? Drop me a comment or link me your review 🙂

Book Review; The Castaways- Lucy Clarke

Wish you were here? Think again.

Page Count 400

Publication date March 2020

Publisher Harper Collins

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210131-180642_chrome7335808416058643209.jpg

Synopsis

A SECRET BEACH.
A HOLIDAY OF A LIFETIME.
WISH YOU WERE HERE?


THINK AGAIN…

It should be like any other holiday.

Beautiful beaches.
Golden sunsets.
Nothing for miles.

You’ll never want to leave.
Until you can’t…

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Castaways- Lucy Clarke”

Can’t Wait Wednesday- 21#6

Find out which upcoming book release holds a place on my never-ending TBR…

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme run by Wishful Endings and previously Breaking The Spine. We’re here to spotlight upcoming releases and tell you what we’re most excited to read. Want to join in? Let @Tressa tell you all about it, or keep reading to view my choice this week..
Continue reading “Can’t Wait Wednesday- 21#6”

Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”