Blog Tour /Book Review; Mirrorland- Carole Johnstone

What you see isn’t always the truth…

Page Count 320

Publication date April 2021

Publisher Harper Collins

GoodReads link

20201015_193059123454000572772278.jpg

Synopsis

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A twisty, dark, and brilliantly crafted thriller about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge,Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom.

**********

Continue reading “Blog Tour /Book Review; Mirrorland- Carole Johnstone”

Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”

Book Review; The Minders- John Marrs

Five strangers guard our secrets, only four can be trusted.

Page Count 433

Publication date September 2020

Publisher Del Rey

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200716-191049_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

Everyone has secrets. They know yours…

In the 21st century information is king. But computers can be hacked, files can be broken into. So a unique government initiative has been borne. Five ordinary people have been selected to become the latest weapon in thwarting cyber terrorism. A revolutionary medical procedure has turned them into the ultimate secret keepers – the country’s most secretive information has been taken offline and turned into genetic code implanted inside their heads.

Together, the five know every secret – the truth behind every Government lie, conspiracy theory and cover up. Only somebody has discovered who the secret keepers are. And one by one, they are being hunted down..

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Minders- John Marrs”

Mini Book Review; Little Creeping Things- Chelsea Ichaso

I’m so glad we’re in this together..

Page Count 352

 Publication date June 2020/ Publisher Sourcebooks

GoodReads link

 

20200503_161825.jpg

Synopsis

When she was a child, Cassidy Pratt accidentally started a fire that killed her neighbor. She’s pretty sure she didn’t mean to do it, and she’d give anything to forget that awful day. But her town’s bullies, particularly the cruel and beautiful Melody Davenport, have never let her live it down. In Melody’s eyes, Cassidy is a murderer and always will be.

Then Melody goes missing, and Cassidy thinks she may have information about what happened. She knows she should go to the cops, but she recently joked about how much she’d like to get rid of Melody. She even planned the perfect way to do it. And then she gets a chilling text from an unknown number: I’m so glad we’re in this together.

Now it’s up to Cassidy to figure out what’s really going on before the truth behind Melody’s disappearance sets the whole town ablaze.

********** Continue reading “Mini Book Review; Little Creeping Things- Chelsea Ichaso”

Mega Reading Wrap-Up

Smashing this years Goodreads goal and burning through ARCs. Here’s what I’ve been reading this year…

Well here we are in 2020 and already I failed to do a monthly reading wrap-up. Are we surprised? I think not. My inconsistency in all things is to be expected by now.
Instead today I’m covering both January and February, I’ve gone a different direction this time and shared my star ratings! Is this because I’m too lazy to take individual images and have just screenshot my GoodReads list? I admit nothing.

Aaaanyway, I’m off to a good start this year. My GoodReads challenge is set to 75 and I’ll revisit mid year with the possibility of increasing to 100, but for now I’m being chill about it.

As I write this my Netgalley score is at 81% as well it should be since I’ve read 14 ARCs in the past two months! I won’t be elaborating on them all since some have reviews scheduled later in the year- be sure to come back and discover them.

Here we go… Continue reading “Mega Reading Wrap-Up”