Book Review; The Raven- Jonathan Janz

A post apocalyptic thriller from the modern master of horror.

Publication date Sept 2020/ Publisher FlameTree Press

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200323-201859_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

Fearing that mankind is heading toward nuclear extinction, a group of geneticists unleash a plot to save the world. They’ve discovered that mythological creatures such as werewolves, vampires, witches, and satyrs were once real, and that these monstrous genetic strands are still present in human DNA. These radical scientists unleash the bestial side of human beings that had been dormant for eons, and within months, most people are dead, and bloodthirsty creatures rule the earth. Despite the fact that Dez McClane has no special powers, he is determined to atone for the lives he couldn’t save and to save the woman he loves. But how long can a man survive in a world full of monsters?
**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Raven- Jonathan Janz”

Blog Tour Book Review; Misfits- Hunter Shea

A post apocalyptic thriller from the modern master of horror.

 Publication date Sept 2020/ Publisher FlameTree Press

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200323-202332_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

During the height of the 90s grunge era, five high school friends living on the fringe are driven to the breaking point. When one of their friends is brutally raped by a drunk townie, they decide to take matters into their own hands. Deep in the woods of Milbury, Connecticut, there lives the legend of the Melon Heads, a race of creatures that shun human interaction and prey on those who dare to wander down Dracula Drive. Maybe this night, one band of misfits can help the other. Or maybe some legends are meant to be feared for a reason.

********** Continue reading “Blog Tour Book Review; Misfits- Hunter Shea”

Book Review; The Year Of The Witching- Alexis Henderson

In the lands of Bethel, where the Prophet’s word is law, Immanuelle Moore’s very existence is blasphemy…

Page Count 320

 Publication date July 2020/ Publisher Transworld 

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200709-194845_Chrome.jpg

 

Synopsis

The daughter of a union with an outsider that cast her once-proud family into disgrace, Immanuelle does her best to worship the Father, follow Holy Protocol and lead a life of submission, devotion and absolute conformity, like all the women in the settlement.

But a chance mishap lures her into the forbidden Darkwood that surrounds Bethel – a place where the first prophet once pursued and killed four powerful witches. Their spirits are still walking there, and they bestow a gift on Immanuelle: the diary of her dead mother, who Immanuelle is shocked to learn once sought sanctuary in the wood.

Fascinated by secrets in the diary, Immanuelle finds herself struggling to understand how her mother could have consorted with the witches. But when she begins to learn grim truths about the Church and its history, she realises the true threat to Bethel is its own darkness. And if Bethel is to change, it must begin with her . . 

********** Continue reading “Book Review; The Year Of The Witching- Alexis Henderson”

Book Review; Boy In The Box- Marc E Fitch

Some secrets just won’t stay buried

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReads link

 

20191231_1028534590327871777928296.jpg

Synopsis

Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombs’ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they don’t realize is that they are walking into a trap — one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice.

**********

Review

It took me a while to really get into this novel. Not because it isn’t fantastic, the current world situation sucked up some of my reading motivation. Once I really forced myself to sit down and get into this I absolutely loved it!

I’m always an easy win over when it comes to horror set in the wilderness, and Boy In The Box gives us exactly that.
Three former friends return to the forest to move the body of a child they murdered years before. Buried in the wilderness, all have suffered the guilt and trauma of their decision throughout their lives and now discover a planned redevelopment may uncover their mistake.

I didn’t find any of the men particularly likeable, but in this story I didn’t think it a necessity.  I can’t tell you much without spoiling the surprise.
Told mostly through the perspective of main character Jonathan with additions from his son and friend Michael, we join them on a terrifying journey through the snow, but they aren’t alone…

Maybe it was just my current temperament, or maybe the pacing does start out a little slow. Either way the tension ratchets up as the novel takes a surprising supernatural turn.

I definitely recommend and will be looking out for Marc E Fitch in future.

Perfect for fans of Nevill’s The Ritual.

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

 

Mega Reading Wrap-Up

Smashing this years Goodreads goal and burning through ARCs. Here’s what I’ve been reading this year…

Well here we are in 2020 and already I failed to do a monthly reading wrap-up. Are we surprised? I think not. My inconsistency in all things is to be expected by now.
Instead today I’m covering both January and February, I’ve gone a different direction this time and shared my star ratings! Is this because I’m too lazy to take individual images and have just screenshot my GoodReads list? I admit nothing.

Aaaanyway, I’m off to a good start this year. My GoodReads challenge is set to 75 and I’ll revisit mid year with the possibility of increasing to 100, but for now I’m being chill about it.

As I write this my Netgalley score is at 81% as well it should be since I’ve read 14 ARCs in the past two months! I won’t be elaborating on them all since some have reviews scheduled later in the year- be sure to come back and discover them.

Here we go… Continue reading “Mega Reading Wrap-Up”