Book Review; Boy In The Box- Marc E Fitch

Some secrets just won’t stay buried

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReads link

 

20191231_1028534590327871777928296.jpg

Synopsis

Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombs’ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they don’t realize is that they are walking into a trap — one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice.

**********

Review

It took me a while to really get into this novel. Not because it isn’t fantastic, the current world situation sucked up some of my reading motivation. Once I really forced myself to sit down and get into this I absolutely loved it!

I’m always an easy win over when it comes to horror set in the wilderness, and Boy In The Box gives us exactly that.
Three former friends return to the forest to move the body of a child they murdered years before. Buried in the wilderness, all have suffered the guilt and trauma of their decision throughout their lives and now discover a planned redevelopment may uncover their mistake.

I didn’t find any of the men particularly likeable, but in this story I didn’t think it a necessity.  I can’t tell you much without spoiling the surprise.
Told mostly through the perspective of main character Jonathan with additions from his son and friend Michael, we join them on a terrifying journey through the snow, but they aren’t alone…

Maybe it was just my current temperament, or maybe the pacing does start out a little slow. Either way the tension ratchets up as the novel takes a surprising supernatural turn.

I definitely recommend and will be looking out for Marc E Fitch in future.

Perfect for fans of Nevill’s The Ritual.

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

 

Mega Reading Wrap-Up

Smashing this years Goodreads goal and burning through ARCs. Here’s what I’ve been reading this year…

Well here we are in 2020 and already I failed to do a monthly reading wrap-up. Are we surprised? I think not. My inconsistency in all things is to be expected by now.
Instead today I’m covering both January and February, I’ve gone a different direction this time and shared my star ratings! Is this because I’m too lazy to take individual images and have just screenshot my GoodReads list? I admit nothing.

Aaaanyway, I’m off to a good start this year. My GoodReads challenge is set to 75 and I’ll revisit mid year with the possibility of increasing to 100, but for now I’m being chill about it.

As I write this my Netgalley score is at 81% as well it should be since I’ve read 14 ARCs in the past two months! I won’t be elaborating on them all since some have reviews scheduled later in the year- be sure to come back and discover them.

Here we go… Continue reading “Mega Reading Wrap-Up”

Book Review; Wilder Girls – Rory Power

The island takes everything..

Page Count 368

 Publication date 2019/ Publisher Macmillan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20200107-180239_goodreads1704028298569294209.jpg

 

Synopsis

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put under quarantine. Since the Tox hit and pulled Hetty’s life out from under her.

It started slow. First the teachers died one by one. Then it began to infect the students, turning their bodies strange and foreign. Now, cut off from the rest of the world and left to fend for themselves on their island home, the girls don’t dare wander outside the school’s fence, where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure they were promised as the Tox seeps into everything.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie beyond the fence. And when she does, Hetty learns that there’s more to their story, to their life at Raxter, than she could have ever thought true. 

**********

Review

I can’t remember the last time I’ve been so on-the-fence about a book. Wilder Girls had been sitting on my wishlist for months before I suddenly got approved for a Netgalley ARC- 6 months after publication?

Needless to say I was thrilled and began reading immediately. It’s taken me one afternoon to finish it, so clearly the book did grip me no matter my overall opinion.

Positives? Rory Power can write some damn good body horror! There are some truly repulsive scenes in Wilder Girls, they gave the story an edge it definitely needed.
The atmosphere is beautifully done, I adored the bleak setting and the writing style during Byatt’s manic moments whilst unconventional was really effective.

 I loved the premise but the book was a little slow moving to start. There isn’t an explanation of the origin of the Tox; there are plenty of half assed ideas but to be honest I’d rather there were none if Power never intended on a reveal.

I can’t explain without spoilers but I found several gaping plot holes in this book, in the manner of problems/conflicts that could be easily solved with common sense. Including a massive flaw in the ending of the book that rendered the whole story pretty pointless.

However, I enjoyed the survivalist theme, the feral behaviour of the girls in such hopeless circumstances and the relationships built between the three main characters.

So as you see. Solidly on the fence.
Have to say though, very pleased to find another LGBTQ YA horror novel. If you read and enjoyed this may I highly recommend The Girl In Red by Christina Henry next?

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

Book Review; Those Who Came Before- JH Moncrieff

People are dying at Strong Lake and the worst is yet to come…

Page Count 256

 Publication date October 2019/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReadsLink

 

screenshot_20191006-103545_goodreads6436428708886040383.jpg

Synopsis;

An idyllic weekend camping trip is cut short when Reese Wallace’s friends are brutally murdered. As the group’s only survivor, Reese is the prime suspect, and his story doesn’t make much sense. A disembodied voice warning him to leave the campground the night before? A strange, blackened tree that gave him an electric shock when he cut it down for firewood?

Detective Greyeyes isn’t having any of it―until she hears the voice herself and finds an arrowhead at the crime scene―an arrowhead she can’t get rid of. Troubling visions of a doomed Native American tribe who once called the campground home, and rumors of cursed land and a mythical beast plague the strangest murder case she’s ever been a part of.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Those Who Came Before- JH Moncrieff”

Book Review; Slash- Hunter Shea

The Wraith Is Back!

Page Count 256

 Publication date October 2019/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReadsLink

 

screenshot_20191006-151519_chrome8309798002875931850.jpg

Synopsis;

Five years after Ashley King survived the infamous Resort Massacre, she’s found hanging in her basement by her fiancé, Todd Matthews. She left behind clues as to what really happened that night, clues that may reveal the identity of the killer the press has called The Wraith.

With the help of his friends, Todd goes back to the crumbling Hayden Resort, a death-tinged ruin in the Catskills Mountains. What they find is a haunted history that’s been lying in wait for a fresh set of victims. The Wraith is back, and he’s not what they expected.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Slash- Hunter Shea”