Book Review; The Raven- Jonathan Janz

A post apocalyptic thriller from the modern master of horror.

Publication date Sept 2020/ Publisher FlameTree Press

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200323-201859_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

Fearing that mankind is heading toward nuclear extinction, a group of geneticists unleash a plot to save the world. They’ve discovered that mythological creatures such as werewolves, vampires, witches, and satyrs were once real, and that these monstrous genetic strands are still present in human DNA. These radical scientists unleash the bestial side of human beings that had been dormant for eons, and within months, most people are dead, and bloodthirsty creatures rule the earth. Despite the fact that Dez McClane has no special powers, he is determined to atone for the lives he couldn’t save and to save the woman he loves. But how long can a man survive in a world full of monsters?
**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Raven- Jonathan Janz”

Blog Tour Book Review; Misfits- Hunter Shea

A post apocalyptic thriller from the modern master of horror.

 Publication date Sept 2020/ Publisher FlameTree Press

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200323-202332_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

During the height of the 90s grunge era, five high school friends living on the fringe are driven to the breaking point. When one of their friends is brutally raped by a drunk townie, they decide to take matters into their own hands. Deep in the woods of Milbury, Connecticut, there lives the legend of the Melon Heads, a race of creatures that shun human interaction and prey on those who dare to wander down Dracula Drive. Maybe this night, one band of misfits can help the other. Or maybe some legends are meant to be feared for a reason.

********** Continue reading “Blog Tour Book Review; Misfits- Hunter Shea”

Book Review; Boy In The Box- Marc E Fitch

Some secrets just won’t stay buried

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReads link

 

20191231_1028534590327871777928296.jpg

Synopsis

Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombs’ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they don’t realize is that they are walking into a trap — one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice.

**********

Review

It took me a while to really get into this novel. Not because it isn’t fantastic, the current world situation sucked up some of my reading motivation. Once I really forced myself to sit down and get into this I absolutely loved it!

I’m always an easy win over when it comes to horror set in the wilderness, and Boy In The Box gives us exactly that.
Three former friends return to the forest to move the body of a child they murdered years before. Buried in the wilderness, all have suffered the guilt and trauma of their decision throughout their lives and now discover a planned redevelopment may uncover their mistake.

I didn’t find any of the men particularly likeable, but in this story I didn’t think it a necessity.  I can’t tell you much without spoiling the surprise.
Told mostly through the perspective of main character Jonathan with additions from his son and friend Michael, we join them on a terrifying journey through the snow, but they aren’t alone…

Maybe it was just my current temperament, or maybe the pacing does start out a little slow. Either way the tension ratchets up as the novel takes a surprising supernatural turn.

I definitely recommend and will be looking out for Marc E Fitch in future.

Perfect for fans of Nevill’s The Ritual.

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

 

Book Review; Those Who Came Before- JH Moncrieff

People are dying at Strong Lake and the worst is yet to come…

Page Count 256

 Publication date October 2019/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReadsLink

 

screenshot_20191006-103545_goodreads6436428708886040383.jpg

Synopsis;

An idyllic weekend camping trip is cut short when Reese Wallace’s friends are brutally murdered. As the group’s only survivor, Reese is the prime suspect, and his story doesn’t make much sense. A disembodied voice warning him to leave the campground the night before? A strange, blackened tree that gave him an electric shock when he cut it down for firewood?

Detective Greyeyes isn’t having any of it―until she hears the voice herself and finds an arrowhead at the crime scene―an arrowhead she can’t get rid of. Troubling visions of a doomed Native American tribe who once called the campground home, and rumors of cursed land and a mythical beast plague the strangest murder case she’s ever been a part of.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Those Who Came Before- JH Moncrieff”

Book Review; Slash- Hunter Shea

The Wraith Is Back!

Page Count 256

 Publication date October 2019/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReadsLink

 

screenshot_20191006-151519_chrome8309798002875931850.jpg

Synopsis;

Five years after Ashley King survived the infamous Resort Massacre, she’s found hanging in her basement by her fiancé, Todd Matthews. She left behind clues as to what really happened that night, clues that may reveal the identity of the killer the press has called The Wraith.

With the help of his friends, Todd goes back to the crumbling Hayden Resort, a death-tinged ruin in the Catskills Mountains. What they find is a haunted history that’s been lying in wait for a fresh set of victims. The Wraith is back, and he’s not what they expected.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Slash- Hunter Shea”