Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”

Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu

When ghosts talk, she will listen

Page Count 288

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Tor

GoodReads link

screenshot_20201021-214417_chrome174930499252836651.jpg

Synopsis

When a child goes missing in Edinburgh’s darkest streets, young Ropa investigates. She’ll need to call on Zimbabwean magic as well as her Scottish pragmatism to hunt down clues. But as shadows lengthen, will the hunter become the hunted?

When ghosts talk, she will listen…

Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker. Now she speaks to Edinburgh’s dead, carrying messages to the living. A girl’s gotta earn a living, and it seems harmless enough. Until, that is, the dead whisper that someone’s bewitching children–leaving them husks, empty of joy and life. It’s on Ropa’s patch, so she feels honor-bound to investigate. But what she learns will change her world.

She’ll dice with death (not part of her life plan…), discovering an occult library and a taste for hidden magic. She’ll also experience dark times. For Edinburgh hides a wealth of secrets, and Ropa’s gonna hunt them all down

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu”

Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter

Page Count 368

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210208-210746_chrome2725996614760424670.jpg

Synopsis

**********

Long ago Miren O’Malley’s family prospered due to a deal struck with the Mer: safety for their ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and have fallen into decline. Miren’s grandmother is determined to restore their glory, even at the price of Miren’s freedom.

A spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, magic and witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them

***********

Continue reading “Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter”

Topshelf Tuesdays 21#3

So many books, so little time.

Topshelf Tuesday is created by yours truly to shout about books on my TBR that I am desperate to read.

As a reviewer I try to post on or around the day of release if I’m writing about an ARC. The downside of this is all those owned books sitting sadly on the shelf, well, on my kindle mostly.

An irresponsible Netgalley addiction coupled with the desire to review any direct requests leaves me little to no time for what I dub ‘Topshelf’ books. Instead I look longingly at the covers before diving straight into the next title my schedule demands.

Some are new, some are old, some are gifted, some are recommended. All are waiting waiting waiting for their time to shine.

This week on my Topshelf I’m feeling wistful for…

screenshot_20210306-144438_gallery7765374496771590527.jpg

Grady Hendrix- The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires

I’ve read and enjoyed both Horrorstor and My Best Friends Exorcism by Grady so far, I’ve heard a lot of great things about The Southern Book Club’s Guide To Slaying Vampires, it’s been staring out of my kindle at me for around 5 months now.

Synopsis

Patricia Campbell had always planned for a big life, but after giving up her career as a nurse to marry an ambitious doctor and become a mother, Patricia’s life has never felt smaller. The days are long, her kids are ungrateful, her husband is distant, and her to-do list is never really done. The one thing she has to look forward to is her book club, a group of Charleston mothers united only by their love for true-crime and suspenseful fiction. In these meetings, they’re more likely to discuss the FBI’s recent siege of Waco as much as the ups and downs of marriage and motherhood.

But when an artistic and sensitive stranger moves into the neighborhood, the book club’s meetings turn into speculation about the newcomer. Patricia is initially attracted to him, but when some local children go missing, she starts to suspect the newcomer is involved. She begins her own investigation, assuming that he’s a Jeffrey Dahmer or Ted Bundy. What she uncovers is far more terrifying, and soon she–and her book club–are the only people standing between the monster they’ve invited into their homes and their unsuspecting community

Have you read this novel? Drop me a comment or link me your review!

Topshelf Tuesdays 21#2

So many books, so little time.

Topshelf Tuesday is created by yours truly to shout about books on my TBR that I am desperate to read.

As a reviewer I try to post on or around the day of release if I’m writing about an ARC. The downside of this is all those owned books sitting sadly on the shelf, well, on my kindle mostly.

An irresponsible Netgalley addiction coupled with the desire to review any direct requests leaves me little to no time for what I dub ‘Topshelf’ books. Instead I look longingly at the covers before diving straight into the next title my schedule demands.

Some are new, some are old, some are gifted, some are recommended. All are waiting waiting waiting for their time to shine.

This week on my Topshelf I’m feeling wistful for…

screenshot_20210306-141907_gallery2047058990161208230.jpg

Leigh Bardugo- Ninth House

I very nearly missed the train home from London back in 2019 when I ran back into the Forbidden Planet store to get their last copy of a signed hardback edition of Ninth House. Why have I made it to 2021 and still not read it?!

Synopsis

Galaxy “Alex” Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale’s freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. By age twenty, in fact, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she’s thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world’s most elite universities on a full ride. What’s the catch, and why her?

Still searching for answers to this herself, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale’s secret societies. These eight windowless “tombs” are well-known to be haunts of the future rich and powerful, from high-ranking politicos to Wall Street and Hollywood’s biggest players. But their occult activities are revealed to be more sinister and more extraordinary than any paranoid imagination might conceive.

Have you read this novel? Drop me a comment or link me your review!