Blog Tour /Book Review; Mirrorland- Carole Johnstone

What you see isn’t always the truth…

Page Count 320

Publication date April 2021

Publisher Harper Collins

GoodReads link

20201015_193059123454000572772278.jpg

Synopsis

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A twisty, dark, and brilliantly crafted thriller about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge,Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom.

**********

Continue reading “Blog Tour /Book Review; Mirrorland- Carole Johnstone”

Topshelf Tuesdays 21#4

So many books, so little time.

Topshelf Tuesday is created by yours truly to shout about books on my TBR that I am desperate to read.

As a reviewer I try to post on or around the day of release if I’m writing about an ARC. The downside of this is all those owned books sitting sadly on the shelf, well, on my kindle mostly.

An irresponsible Netgalley addiction coupled with the desire to review any direct requests leaves me little to no time for what I dub ‘Topshelf’ books. Instead I look longingly at the covers before diving straight into the next title my schedule demands.

Some are new, some are old, some are gifted, some are recommended. All are waiting waiting waiting for their time to shine.

This week on my Topshelf I’m feeling wistful for…

screenshot_20210221-180347_kindle758546064679936566.jpg

Silvia Moreno Garcia –Mexican Gothic

Synopsis

After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find—her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

Noemí is also an unlikely rescuer: She’s a glamorous debutante, and her chic gowns and perfect red lipstick are more suited for cocktail parties than amateur sleuthing. But she’s also tough and smart, with an indomitable will, and she is not afraid: Not of her cousin’s new husband, who is both menacing and alluring; not of his father, the ancient patriarch who seems to be fascinated by Noemí; and not even of the house itself, which begins to invade Noemí’s dreams with visions of blood and doom.

Her only ally in this inhospitable abode is the family’s youngest son. Shy and gentle, he seems to want to help Noemí, but might also be hiding dark knowledge of his family’s past. For there are many secrets behind the walls of High Place. The family’s once colossal wealth and faded mining empire kept them from prying eyes, but as Noemí digs deeper she unearths stories of violence and madness.

My fabulous friend Kelly gifted me a beautiful hardback edition of this book for Christmas. I’ve been dying to read it since Mexican Gothic hit so many bestseller lists in 2020, even knocking Mr King off his pedestal to win the GoodReads award for Horror novel of the year!

Have you read this novel? Drop me a comment or link me your review 🙂

Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”

Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu

When ghosts talk, she will listen

Page Count 288

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Tor

GoodReads link

screenshot_20201021-214417_chrome174930499252836651.jpg

Synopsis

When a child goes missing in Edinburgh’s darkest streets, young Ropa investigates. She’ll need to call on Zimbabwean magic as well as her Scottish pragmatism to hunt down clues. But as shadows lengthen, will the hunter become the hunted?

When ghosts talk, she will listen…

Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker. Now she speaks to Edinburgh’s dead, carrying messages to the living. A girl’s gotta earn a living, and it seems harmless enough. Until, that is, the dead whisper that someone’s bewitching children–leaving them husks, empty of joy and life. It’s on Ropa’s patch, so she feels honor-bound to investigate. But what she learns will change her world.

She’ll dice with death (not part of her life plan…), discovering an occult library and a taste for hidden magic. She’ll also experience dark times. For Edinburgh hides a wealth of secrets, and Ropa’s gonna hunt them all down

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu”

Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter

Page Count 368

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210208-210746_chrome2725996614760424670.jpg

Synopsis

**********

Long ago Miren O’Malley’s family prospered due to a deal struck with the Mer: safety for their ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and have fallen into decline. Miren’s grandmother is determined to restore their glory, even at the price of Miren’s freedom.

A spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, magic and witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them

***********

Continue reading “Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter”