Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen

Page Count 320

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

Synopsis

**********

For fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid’s Tale, in Dark Lullaby a mother desperately tries to keep her family together in a society where parenting standards are strictly monitored.

When Kit decides to have a child, she thinks she’s prepared. She knows how demanding Induction is. She’s seen children Extracted. But in a society where parenting is strictly monitored under the watchful gaze of OSIP (The Office of Standards in Parenting), she is forced to ask herself how far she will go to keep her family together.

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; Dark Lullaby – Polly Ho Yen”

Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu

When ghosts talk, she will listen

Page Count 288

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Tor

GoodReads link

screenshot_20201021-214417_chrome174930499252836651.jpg

Synopsis

When a child goes missing in Edinburgh’s darkest streets, young Ropa investigates. She’ll need to call on Zimbabwean magic as well as her Scottish pragmatism to hunt down clues. But as shadows lengthen, will the hunter become the hunted?

When ghosts talk, she will listen…

Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker. Now she speaks to Edinburgh’s dead, carrying messages to the living. A girl’s gotta earn a living, and it seems harmless enough. Until, that is, the dead whisper that someone’s bewitching children–leaving them husks, empty of joy and life. It’s on Ropa’s patch, so she feels honor-bound to investigate. But what she learns will change her world.

She’ll dice with death (not part of her life plan…), discovering an occult library and a taste for hidden magic. She’ll also experience dark times. For Edinburgh hides a wealth of secrets, and Ropa’s gonna hunt them all down

**********

Continue reading “Book Review; The Library Of The Dead- T L Huchu”

Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter

Page Count 368

Publication date March 2021

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20210208-210746_chrome2725996614760424670.jpg

Synopsis

**********

Long ago Miren O’Malley’s family prospered due to a deal struck with the Mer: safety for their ships in return for a child of each generation. But for many years the family have been unable to keep their side of the bargain and have fallen into decline. Miren’s grandmother is determined to restore their glory, even at the price of Miren’s freedom.

A spellbinding tale of dark family secrets, magic and witches, and creatures of myth and the sea; of strong women and the men who seek to control them

***********

Continue reading “Book Review; All The Murmuring Bones – A G Slatter”

AnAverageLife’s Top 10 Books of 2020

I don’t need to say it was a hard year, we all know it, we all feel it. I struggled at times to immerse myself in reading, or in anything at all if I’m honest, so I read a little less. Even so, of the 80+ fiction novels I did escape into, these were my favourite..

10. The Year Of The Witching – Alexis Henderson

Screenshot_20200709-194845_Chrome.jpg

9. Cinderella Is Dead – Kalynn Bayron

Screenshot_20200630-222901_Chrome.jpg

8. The Hollow Places – T Kingfisher

screenshot_20201116-210349_chrome2983713797743016007.jpg

7. The Secrets Of Strangers- Charity Norman

Screenshot_20200131-222726_Chrome.jpg

6. A Deadly Education- Naomi Novik

20200705_164340.jpg

5 . The Silent Wife – Karin Slaughter

Screenshot_20200501-131726_Chrome.jpg

4. The Hunted – Gabriel Bergmoser

Screenshot_20200630-222816_Chrome.jpg

3. Feathertide – Beth Cartwright

Screenshot_20200307-150728_Snapseed.jpg

2. The Misfits – Hunter Shea

Misfits BT Poster.jpg

1. The Devil And The Dark Water

Screenshot_20200930-204001_Chrome.jpg

Have you read any of these titles? What made your top 10 of 2020?

October Reading Wrap-Up

Welcome back ghosts and ghouls,
I think it’s about time I posted another wrap up, it’s been a while! Being October you’ll find my TBR was mostly Halloween themed last month.
I’ve shied away from long novels recently, (my re-read of IT was abandoned before it even began) so I managed to finish a good amount of books this month. Take a look;

Continue reading “October Reading Wrap-Up”