Book Review; The Girl and The Stars- Mark Lawrence/ A RandomThings Blog Tour

In the ice, east of the Black Rock, there is a hole into which broken children are thrown..

Page Count 480

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Harper Voyager

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200420-204715_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

On Abeth the vastness of the ice holds no room for individuals. Survival together is barely possible. No one survives alone.

To resist the cold, to endure the months of night when even the air itself begins to freeze, requires a special breed. Variation is dangerous, difference is fatal. And Yaz is not the same.

Yaz is torn from the only life she’s ever known, away from her family, from the boy she thought she would spend her days with, and has to carve out a new path for herself in a world whose existence she never suspected. A world full of difference and mystery and danger.

Yaz learns that Abeth is older and stranger than she had ever imagined. She learns that her weaknesses are another kind of strength. And she learns to challenge the cruel arithmetic of survival that has always governed her people.

Only when it’s darkest you can see the stars.

********** Continue reading “Book Review; The Girl and The Stars- Mark Lawrence/ A RandomThings Blog Tour”

Book Review; Q- Christina Dalcher

In This World, Perfection Is Everything

Page Count 384

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher HQ

GoodReads link

Screenshot_20200323-201945_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

Elena Fairchild is a teacher at one of the state’s new elite schools. Her daughters are exactly like her: beautiful, ambitious, and perfect. A good thing, since the recent mandate that’s swept the country is all about perfection.
 
Now everyone must undergo routine tests for their quotient, Q, and any children who don’t measure up are placed into new government schools. Instead, teachers can focus on the gifted.
 
Elena tells herself it’s not about eugenics, not really, but when one of her daughters scores lower than expected and is taken away, she intentionally fails her own test to go with her.
 
But what Elena discovers is far more terrifying than she ever imagined…

********** Continue reading “Book Review; Q- Christina Dalcher”

Book Review; Boy In The Box- Marc E Fitch

Some secrets just won’t stay buried

 Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Flame Tree Press

GoodReads link

 

20191231_1028534590327871777928296.jpg

Synopsis

Ten years ago a mysterious and tragic hunting accident deep in the Adirondack Mountains left a boy buried in a storied piece of land known as Coombs’ Gulch and four friends with a terrible secret. Now, Jonathan Hollis and brothers Michael and Conner Braddick must return to the place that changed their lives forever in order to keep their secret buried. What they don’t realize is that they are walking into a trap — one set decades earlier by a supernatural being who is not confined by time or place: a demon that demands a sacrifice.

**********

Review

It took me a while to really get into this novel. Not because it isn’t fantastic, the current world situation sucked up some of my reading motivation. Once I really forced myself to sit down and get into this I absolutely loved it!

I’m always an easy win over when it comes to horror set in the wilderness, and Boy In The Box gives us exactly that.
Three former friends return to the forest to move the body of a child they murdered years before. Buried in the wilderness, all have suffered the guilt and trauma of their decision throughout their lives and now discover a planned redevelopment may uncover their mistake.

I didn’t find any of the men particularly likeable, but in this story I didn’t think it a necessity.  I can’t tell you much without spoiling the surprise.
Told mostly through the perspective of main character Jonathan with additions from his son and friend Michael, we join them on a terrifying journey through the snow, but they aren’t alone…

Maybe it was just my current temperament, or maybe the pacing does start out a little slow. Either way the tension ratchets up as the novel takes a surprising supernatural turn.

I definitely recommend and will be looking out for Marc E Fitch in future.

Perfect for fans of Nevill’s The Ritual.

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

 

Book Review; The Book Of Koli – M R Carey

The first in a gripping new trilogy..

Page Count 416

 Publication date April 2020 Publisher Orbit

GoodReads link

 

Screenshot_20200323-202202_Chrome.jpg

Synopsis

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don’t get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don’t venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn’t know is – what happens when you aren’t given a choice?

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. 

********** Continue reading “Book Review; The Book Of Koli – M R Carey”

Book Review; Eden – Tim Lebbon

Self-preservation is the first law of nature.

Page Count 384

Publication date April 2020/ Publisher Titan Books

GoodReads link

screenshot_20200122-123049_goodreads5623723461117781860.jpg

Synopsis

In a time of global warming and spiralling damage to the environment, the Virgin Zones were established to help combat the change. Abandoned by humanity and given back to nature, these vast areas in a dozen remote locations across the planet were intended to become the lungs of the world.
But there are always those drawn to such places. Extreme sports enthusiasts and adventure racing teams target the dangerous, sometimes deadly zones for illicit races. Only the hardiest and most experienced dare undertake these expeditions. When one such team enters the oldest Zone, Eden, they aren’t prepared for what confronts them. Nature has returned to Eden in an elemental, primeval way. And here, nature is no longer humanity’s friend.
**********

Review

As quite possibly the number one fan of ‘The Silence‘, Tim Lebbon’s earlier survivalist horror novel, imagine my excitement to be gifted an ARC of Eden by none other than the author himself! I was like a kid at Christmas.

There’s nothing scarier than horror set in the wilderness and Eden is wilder than any place on earth. Right now anyway. Who knows what the future may hold? And this is exactly why I adore both Eden and The Silence.
Yes they’re fictional, but are they impossible?

Each chapter begins with a quote from various sources to enlighten the reader with snippets of information relating to the history of Eden and other ‘zones’.
I always appreciate this method, I find it enriches the story without the need for info-dumping.
Tim takes the world we know and tweaks it in terrifying but easily imagined ways that make your spine shudder.

The concept of Eden is born from the present day horror of climate change; pockets of earth have been given back to natures control. Zero human interference. Well, almost zero because humans are curious fuckers.
We follow a pack of seven extreme adventurers on a journey across Eden in their own pursuits of accomplishment, glory, wealth, knowledge and long lost relative Kat.

Written in third person, Eden switches between the perspectives of father Dylan, daughter Jenn and mother Kat.
The tight bonds formed between the characters are a heartfelt display of loyalty and dedication. I particularly liked the father/daughter relationship. Dylan made a fantastic but humble leader and Jenn/ Gee became fast favourites of mine too.

Tim does a beautiful job of world building, the breathtaking descriptions of Eden create a jarring contrast to the nightmare unfolding within.
I don’t want to spoil what lurks inside Eden, but reader prepare yourself for gruesome body horror, unbearable suspense and violent death.

Roxanne’s Reactions:


Thankyou Tim! I can’t wait to see where we go next.