Mini Book Review; The Last Storm – Tim Lebbon

Page Count 368

Publication date July 2022

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20220516-192310_chrome5881216185415519512

Synopsis

**********

-Struck by famine and drought, large swathes of North America are now known as the Desert. Set against this mythic and vast backdrop, The Last Storm is a timely story of a family of Rainmakers whose rare and arcane gift has become a curse.

Jesse stopped rainmaking the moment his abilities became deadly, bringing down not just rain but scorpions, strange snakes and spiders. He thought he could help a land suffering from climate catastrophe, but he was wrong. When his daughter Ash inherited the tainted gift carried down the family bloodline, Jesse did his best to stop her. His attempt went tragically wrong, and ever since then he has believed himself responsible for his daughter’s death.

But now his wife Karina––who never gave up looking for their daughter—brings news that Ash is still alive. And she’s rainmaking again. Terrified of what she might bring down upon the desperate communities of the Desert, the estranged couple set out across the desolate landscape to find her. But Jesse and Karina are not the only ones looking for Ash. As the storms she conjures become more violent and deadly, some follow her seeking hope. And one is hungry for revenge.

**********

Review

Lebbon has been an autobuy author for me since reading The Silence and he never disappoints.
The Last Storm takes place in a near future where the earth is drying out, a scarily feasible concept.

Long estranged couple Jesse and Karina traverse the American desert in search of their missing daughter Ash, the last in the family line of ‘Rainmakers’. Believed by most to be an urban legend, Jesse’s lineage inherit the ability to bring rain to the area they inhabit. But there’s something more than just water falling from the skies and Jesse couldn’t control it.. but can Ash?

I didn’t connect emotionally with the family but still became invested in the parents determination to overcome their past in a race to save their daughter. It’s hard not to be impressed by the strength and willing sacrifices people make for their children and Lebbon depicted this well.

I’m a big fan of Lebbon’s creature creations and The Last Storm has plenty in store alongside the very real threat of an uncontrollable climate.

Told in third from the perspectives of Ash, Jesse, Karina and nemesis Jimi, we switch between current and past time lines discovering the shocking truth of how the family became estranged.

The Last Storm is a fast-paced, apocalyptic revenge ride with a brutal finale. Perfect for fans of Mad Max.

Features & Functions:

Author: Roxanne Michelle

Dramatic, curly-haired wannabe writer from a nowhere town in Somerset. Stop-starter of all projects great and small. Here to talk books, film, mental health and lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Caffeinated Reviewer

books, audiobooks, reviews & coffee

JennyLou's book reviews

My escape from reality reading books

BIRDIE'S BOOK NOOK

reviewing fantasy, sci-fi, and romance novels

A Short Book Lover

Bite size book reviews

The Curious SFF Reader

A Blog about science fiction, fantasy and more!

Lotus Writing Therapy

Home of The Lotus Readers

Intersections in the Darkest Visions

Analyzing Horror Through Intersectional Feminism

Cover to Cover

Through life one book at a time...

%d bloggers like this: