Book Review; The Path Of Thorns- A G Slatter

Page Count 352

Publication date June 2022

Publisher Titan

GoodReads link

screenshot_20220419-190930_chrome212223968284470196

Synopsis

**********

-Alone in the world, Asher Todd travels to the remote estate of Morwood Grange to become governess to three small children. Her sole possessions comprise a sea chest and a large carpet bag she hangs onto for dear life. She finds a fine old home, its inhabitants proud of their lineage and impeccable reputation, and a small village nearby. It seems an untroubled existence, yet there are portraits missing from the walls, locked rooms, and names excised from the family tree inscribed in the bible.

In short order, the children adore her, she becomes indispensible to their father Luther in his laboratory, and her potions are able to restore the sight of granddame Leonora. Soon Asher fits in as if she’s always been there, but there are creatures that stalk the woods at night, spectres haunt the halls, and Asher is not as much a stranger to the Morwoods as it might at first appear.

**********

Review

I was initially unsure of requesting this title, my opinion of Slatter’s previous novel All The Murmuring Bones was slightly above average but the cover and synopsis for The Path Of Thorns drew me in regardless- I’m glad it did.

There’s a noticeable improvement in the plot and pacing of TPOT, Slatter withholds enough information from the beginning to encourage investment in the mysteries. Asher arrives at Morwood with secrets and motives unknown to us and a burning hatred that screams of a history to uncover.

I found the writing a little inconsistent, the prose is occasionally out of sync with the time period in which The Path Of Thorns is set.
Although this was noticeable enough to break my focus it was of little detriment to the overall reading experience as I was easily drawn back in.

I was pleased to find Slatter has again added short fairytales within the story, as you might guess from the cover Little Red Riding Hood is heavily featured. The tales are beautifully written and hint at subtext leading the reader to consider their relation to the main plot and what hidden motives might be revealed.

Told in first person from Asher’s perspective, it’s clear she is on a revenge mission but her kind heart isn’t darkened by it. Her character is well developed through the interactions and relationships built with those around her, this alongside Asher’s inner monologue creates a kinship with the reader that held my interest well.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Path Of Thorns, great for fans of Arden, Ernshaw or Novik.

Features & Functions:

Author: Roxanne Michelle

Dramatic, curly-haired wannabe writer from a nowhere town in Somerset. Stop-starter of all projects great and small. Here to talk books, film, mental health and lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Caffeinated Reviewer

books, audiobooks, reviews & coffee

JennyLou's book reviews

My escape from reality reading books

BIRDIE'S BOOK NOOK

reviewing fantasy, sci-fi, and romance novels

A Short Book Lover

Bite size book reviews

The Curious SFF Reader

A Blog about science fiction, fantasy and more!

Lotus Writing Therapy

Home of The Lotus Readers

Intersections in the Darkest Visions

Analyzing Horror Through Intersectional Feminism

Cover to Cover

Through life one book at a time...

%d bloggers like this: