Book Review; The Unadjusteds- Marisa Noelle

Page Count 314

 Publication date November 2019/ Publisher Write Plan

GoodReads link

 

the unadjusteds

 

Synopsis

Sixteen-year-old Silver Melody lives in a world where 80% of the population has modified their DNA. Known as the altereds, those people now possess enhancements like wings, tails, and increased strength or intelligence. Although Silver’s parents created the nanite pill used to deliver these genetic modifications, Silver is proud of her unadjusted state.

However, when the president declares all unadjusteds must take a nanite, Silver has no choice but to flee the city with her father and some friends to prevent the extinction of the unadjusteds.

With Silver’s mother in prison for treason, Silver’s father is the unadjusteds’ only hope at finding a cure. But time is running out as Silver’s father is captured by the president’s almost immortal army. Vicious hellhounds are on Silver’s trail, and her only chance to recover her father involves teaming up with a new group of unlikely friends before all humanity is lost.

**********

Review

I would never usually liken one book to another but I have to say The Unadjusteds is perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

With a female led resistance, an underground base and even their own anthem, The Unadjusteds make preparations to take back their freedom from the evil President Bear and rescue Silver’s parents- creators of the nanites.

The scene is set quickly and succinctly, building just the right amount of character backstory and emotion before throwing the reader straight into the action.

The action scenes in this novel are fantastic; Fast paced, brutal fights and dramatic escapes with plenty of bloodshed and some heartfelt loss.
The variation of abilities throughout the ‘altereds’ and the monstrous creations from scientist Earl give us some insight into Marisa’s incredibly creative imagination.

Alongside a whole cast of new friends and enemies, a romantic subplot sees Silver grapple between the choice of her childhood best friend Matt and newly met gentle giant Joe.

By the time I’d finished reading I’d connected really well with all of the characters created by Marisa and I can’t wait to see what they do next.

The story is far from over…

Roxanne’s Reactions:

 

*Many thanks to Marisa Noelle for my copy of The Unadjusteds in exchange for an honest review.

Author: Roxanne Michelle

Dramatic, curly-haired wannabe writer from a nowhere town in Somerset. Stop-starter of all projects great and small. Here to talk books, film, mental health and lifestyle.

One thought on “Book Review; The Unadjusteds- Marisa Noelle”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.